Clubs and Organizations

A list of clubs and extra curricular activities

3D Modeling & Printing

Learn about 3D modeling and printing.

Maria Beldon
msbeldon@fcps.edu

Accounting Club

Discuss various accounting career oppotunities.

John Santosuosso
jmsantosuosso@fcps.edu

Active Minds

To promote awareness of mental health and positivity on school campus.

Donna Barnsley
djbarnsley@fcps.edu

Algorithm

Learn algorithms and beneficial techniques that will help decrease the amount of time needed to solve twisty puzzles.

Pam Douglas
pdouglas@fcps.edu

American Sign Language (ASL)

Teaching the language of American Sign Language.

Jennifer Stocks
jestocks@fcps.edu

Amnesty International

Stop and raise awareness about the violation of human rights around the world.

Jay O'Rourke
jdorourke2@fcps.edu

Art Club

Bill Farnsworth
cjstark@fcps.edu

Aspiring Engineers' Club

Conduct group research projects, educational engineering video viewing, and group engineering build projects.

John Santosuosso
jmsantosuoss@fcps.edu

Auto Club

Share opinions about cars and talk about the latest automotive news.

Jeff Vande Sande
jtvandesande@fcps.edu

Best Buddies

Creates one to one friendships and opportunities for students with intellectual disabilities.

Stan Sauk
ssauk@fcps.edu

Biology Olympiad Club

To provide students an opportunity to further their interest in biology.

Christina Kizelewicz

Book Club

Increase interest in reading.

Gifford Krivak
ggkrivak@fcps.edu

Brainy Camps of LHS

Supplying materials & equipment for kids with chronic conditions.

Gifford Krivak
ggkrivak@fcps.edu

Chemistry

Provide students with an opportunity to further their interest in Chemistry.

Leah Puhlick
lmpuhlick@fcps.edu

Chess

Play chess with people of all grades levels and abilities.

Jeff Vande Sande
jtvandesande@fcps.edu

Chinese Cultural Awareness (Chinese Student Assn.)

To spread awareness of Chinese culture.

Andrew Scronce
aascronce@fcps.edu

Club Ice

Use applications to create beats and possibly compose rap.

Austin Whitehorne
ajwhitehorne@fcps.edu

Computer Science

Provide experience and learning for students interested in computer science.

Susan Huebcsh
sehuebsch@fcps.edu

Crafts Making Club

Teaches students how to make simple crafts by hand.

Cassie Thompson
clthompson@fcps.edu

Crossword Society

Make, solve and compete in crossword related activities.

David Kuhn
djkuhn@fcps.edu

Crew

To promote the sport of rowing.

John Henry
jmhenry@fcps.edu

CyberPatriot

Learn about cyber security.

Maria Beldon
msbeldon@fcps.edu

Debate (VHSL)

Gifford Krivak
ggkrivak@fcps.edu

DECA

Tricia Poythress
tmpoythress@fcps.edu

Digital Art Club

To foster interest and development of digital art mediums.

Mary Baker
mdbaker@fcps.edu

Do Something

Make members aware of social issues and do an activity that helps the cause.

Jennifer McAdams
jamcadams@fcps.edu

Ecology

Gina Song (Eco Club)
grsong@fcps.edu

Environmental Science Club

Work to design, plant, maintain and furnish the courtyards.

Megan Jameyson
mrjameyson@fcps.edu

Environthon

Environthon is a science based club that teachers students information about the environment

Breen Berger
bmberger@fcps.edu

Fellowship of Christian Athletes

Committed to helping athletes and coaches encourage one another and grow in the Christian faith.

Christine McCommas
csmccommas@fcps.edu

Forensics (VHSL)

Gifford Krivak
ggkrivak@fcps.edu

French

Interests in French language and culture.

Jenica Hardy
jhardy@fcps.edu

Gay/Straight Alliance

Ken Price
krprice@fcps.edu

Girl Up (Global Initiative)

Strive to help girls who are treated poorly, deprived of an education, and do not have proper resources.

Elisa Steele
EMSteele@fcps.edu

Girls Who Code

Learn different forms of coding and computer programming.

Michael Horgan
mwhorgan@fcps.edu

Guitar

Practice and discuss guitar techniques.

Nick Swanson
nswanson@fcps.edu

Health Occupations Students of America

Where students can learn about health professions and medical subjects.

Tonda Johns
tljohns@fcps.edu

Heart for Hospitals

To discuss ways to help children who are currently in hospitals.

Christina Mitro
camitro@fcps.edu

Hollywood History

Discuss movies regarding historical subjects and historical people.

Melinda Conner
mbconner@fcps.edu

Hype Squad

Work with leadership to further promote spirit days and school spirit.

Jay O'Rourke
jdorourke2@fcps.edu

International Dance Club

Learn dances from diverse cultures.

Pamela Douglas
pdouglas@fcps.edu

Iron Out Cancer

Supply colorful pillowcases to children with cancer and other serious diseases.

Betsy Jones
sejones3@fcps.edu

It's Academic/Scholastic Bowl

High school quiz bowl that meets to play/practice/socialize

Jay O'Rourke
jdorourke2@fcps.edu

Elisa Steele
emsteele@fcps.edu

Junior Civitan

A service club.

Pamela Douglas
pdouglas@fcps.edu

Junior Optimist

Offers community services opportunities to help spread optimism.

Margaret Wingo
mdwingo@fcps.edu

Key

A service club.

Sponsor to be announced.

Latin

To provide a forum for all interested Latin students.

Joan Tannenbaum
jtannenbaum@fcps.edu

Launch

Create a start-up while developing real-world skills relating to business.

Jay O'Rourke
jdorourke2@fcps.edu 

Literary Discussion

Socratic seminars discussing various literary works.

Kathleen Ortiz
klortiz@fcps.edu

Literary Magazine:  Kaleidoscope

Literary magazine, featuring student art and creative writing.

Christina Mitro
cmitro@fcps.edu

Manga

Study and learn how to draw manga (Japanese comics) style.

Christina Banker
cebanker@fcps.edu

Math Teams

Ilana Hand (Junior Math Team)
ihand@fcps.edu

Media Review Club

Aims to harbor appreciation, create exposure, and critique any and all art forms, including music, film, fine arts, and more.

William Farnsworth
wbfarnsworth@fcps.edu

Medical

Provides opportunities for students to explore interests in a medical career.

Betsy Jones
SEJones3@fcps.edu

Mentor for Latino Children (MLC)

Shares experiences about volunteer opportunities for Latino children.

Andrew Scronce
aascronce@fcps.edu

Military Club

Watching FCPS approved Military films, hearing from current servicemen and women about their lives.

Mark Witzel
mdwitzel@fcps.edu

Model Organization of American States

To promote democratic values among the youth through a simulation exercise of the OAS.

Gladys Nieves
gmnieves@fcps.edu

Model United Nations

Jennifer Stocks
jestocks@fcps.edu

Music Critic Club

Discuss the myriad of music genres and analyze the history behind the icons.

Kenneth Price
krprice@fcps.edu

Muslim Student Association

Discuss Islam, recent events, and other topics/issues.

Jeff Mye
jrmye@fcps.edu

Ocean Conservation Club

Promote ocean and marine conservation, bring awareness of the detrimental effects of human activity ocean & help aid in the effort to conserve the oceans.

Breen Berger
bmberger@fcps.edu

Our Founding Artists

Integrates art history with creating artwork.

William Farnsworth
wbfarnsworth@fcps.edu

PAWS (People Animal WelfareSociety Club)

Spread awareness about animal abuse and how the environment is impacting wildlife today.

Nick Swanson
nswanson@fcps.edu

Persuasive Individual Growth

To give solo persuasive presentations in front of audiences.

Kathleen Ortiz
klortiz@fcps.edu

Philosophy Club

Discuss and debate philosophical topics and apply age-old concepts to modern issues.

Allison Cohen
aecohen@fcps.edu

Photography  

Mike Horgan
mwhorgan@fcps.edu

Physics 

Provide students with an opportunity to further their interest in Physics.  

Bob Foley
rmfoley@fcps.edu

Relay for Life

Supports cancer survivors and helps raise awareness for cancer patients and treatment.

Hannah Wolff
hwwolff@fcps.edu

Robotics           

Bob Foley
rmfoley@fcps.edu

Science Bowl  

Quizbowl team that focuses on science and math.

Leah Puhlick
lmpuhlick@fcps.edu

Science Olympiad

Students work in pairs to prepare for events that cover all areas of science and engineering.         

Leah Puhlick
lmpuhlick@fcps.edu

Self Defense  

Interest and knowledge of selfdefense and teaches its applicability in life. 

Bob Foley
rmfoley@fcps.edu

Service Learning            

Discuss, brainstorm and generate new ideas for service learning opportunities.

Betsy Shomaker
enshomaker@fcps.edu

Service Performance Club         

Group of musicians and actors who will meet to discuss opportunities to perform and volunteer at places in their community.

Doug Martin
dbmartin@fcps.edu

Slam Poetry Association            

Share poems, writing with each other and sharing videos of talented poets.

Sandy Hamilton
shhamilton@fcps.edu

Smash Bros Club         

Play super smash brothers after school.

Austin Whitehorne
ajwhitehorne@fcps.edu

South Asian Student Association            

Promote awareness of the South Asian culture.

Jennifer Stocks
jestocks@fcps.edu

Spanish             

Interests in Spanish language and culture.

Rachel Iacoletti
rbiacoletti@fcps.edu

Student Advisory Council          

Sandy Hamilton
shhamilton@fcps.edu

Kiersten Conrad
kdconrad@fcps.edu

Student Government Association         

A student organization dedicated to social and organizational activities of the student body.

Sandy Hamilton
shhamilton@fcps.edu

Kiersten Conrad
kdconrad@fcps.edu

SWENext          

Access to resources that sets the stage for a successful future career.

Derek Fertig
dfertig@fcps.edu

Technology

Entrepeneurship and Technology.

Florin Cuc
fgcuc@fcps.edu

Things That Matter

Service projects that will benefit others.

Jamie Parrott
jgparrott@fcps.edu

UNICEF             

Gladys Nieves
gmnieves@fcps.edu

Violence Awareness Student Association    

To discuss the issues of domestic violence, human trafficking, and gang-related activities in society.

Ahmad Zadeh
azadeh@fcps.edu

Young Democrats         

Mary Baker
mdbaker@fcps.edu

Young Economists   

Investigate economics beyond the classroom setting, and participate in economic challenges.

Ahmad Zadeh
azadeh@fcps.edu

Young Life        

Help students engage and explore spiritual issues relevant to their daily lives.

Alex Mantel
armantel@fcps.edu

Young Republicans       

Help students engage and explore spiritual issues relevant to their daily lives.

Christine McCommas
csmccommas@fcps.edu

Wise (Formerly Girls Stem)

Widening Interest in Science and Engineering.

Susan Heubsch
sehuebsch@fcps.edu

Jen Lincicome
jmhoffmeierl@fcps.edu

Women's Empowerment Club

Learn about women’s equality.

Josh Henry
jmhenry@fcps.edu

Writing Club

Discuss creative writing.

Susan Broad
sbroad@fcps.edu

Honor Societies:

Art

English

Ronnie Chern
rdchern@fcps.edu

Fashion Marketing

Tricia Poythress
tmpoythress@fcps.edu

French

Jenica Hardy
jhardy@fcps.edu

German

Heather Mason
hmmason@fcps.edu

Japanese

Andrew Scronce
aascronce@fcps.edu

History

Christina Banker
cebanker@fcps.edu

Cory DiBacco
crdibacco@fcps.edu

Latin

Joan Tannenbaum
jtannenbaum@fcps.edu

Leadership

Sandy Hamilton
shhamilton@fcps.edu

Kiersten Conrad
kdconrad@fcps.edu

Math

Pam Douglas
pdouglas@fcps.edu

Music

Scott McCormick
nsmccormick@fcps.edu

National Honor Society

Melinda Conner
mbconner@fcps.edu

Kat Stankiewicz
kastankiewic@fcps.edu

National Business

Everett Rice
erice@fcps.edu

Quill and Scroll

Christina Mitro
camitro@fcps.edu

Russian

Val Cukierman
maiilto:vcukierman@fcps.edu

Science

Claire Lindner
cvlindner1@fcps.edu

Spanish

Jennifer Stocks
jestocks@fcps.edu

Lea Holmes
laholmes@fcps.edu

Thespians & International Thespians

Valerie Karasek
vdkarasek@fcps.edu

Service Learning Opportunities

http://www2.fcps.edu/LangleyHS/servicelearning.html